Issues with controlling the cabin temperature - 2017+ Chrysler Pacifica Minivan Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-02-2019, 11:20 AM Thread Starter

Issues with controlling the cabin temperature

We just got 2018 Chrysler Pacifica Limited with 30k miles on it and started to notice that something is wonky with temperature control. We just couldn't set the temperature right for some odd reason, so my wife and I started playing around with it to find the pattern. Here's what we've found so far:

1. The first thing we noticed is that there's a lag from when you make the temp change to when it actually starts happening. To make things even more confusing, this lag is inconsistent between the driver side and passenger side even though they are in "Sync" with the same temperatures.
2. We tested in 1-degree increments. What we found is that cold air will be blowing up until 67F, and when set on 67F, on passenger side very hot air's start blowing almost immediately, while on the driver's side it takes maybe another minute before the hot air starts blowing. I'm not sure why there's a lag, however, I can live with that. My major concern is that piping hot air starts blowing at 67F, right after blowing cold air at 66F. The air it is blowing at 67F is equivalent of 80-85F in my other vehicles. So it's really hard to set comfortable temperature in the car. We drove for a little over an hour and kept having to mess with controls. It was either too warm or too cold.
3. Switching from auto or manual to defrost front raises the temperature of the air being pushed out for some reason, even though temperature control was not even touched.

I'm yet to see how this behaves back cabin.

This morning I did some more testing, and it behaved differently: