5Likes
  • 3 Post By Fastskiguy
  • 1 Post By Fastskiguy
  • 1 Post By Fastskiguy

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-03-2016, 04:42 PM Thread Starter

Garage
I am a minivan driver

Have driven nice pickups since 2000 and a sporty Ford Focus ST for 18 months and.....I'm driving a G** D*** minivan! We don't even have kids!!

yeah and I'm LOVING IT!!

This summer I was having a grand time ripping up the local track with my Focus on track days and using the truck for stuff like dogs, bikes, and snowboards. I had always wanted to get to the track and found sporty driving to be something that I enjoyed tremendously. I think I had a bit of a knack for it too, I was allowed to go solo after just two 20 minute driving sessions with an instructor and was routinely pointed by by much faster cars (500+ HP cameros, an audi R8, and a hellcat Challenger to name a few). But it never went over very well at home. Between personal injury concerns and liability risks, my wife....well she tolerated it for awhile but 2 1/2 weeks ago laid down the law. No more track days! She was in a strong position as my co-workers, mechanic, parents, in-laws, and a buddy from high school all said the same thing. "This is not good for you"

So...being a happily married man and wanting to stay that way, track days became history. Glorious memories from my late 40's are all that remain. But at least we had that, right? Better to have driven and lost than never have driven at all (or something like that).