2017+ Chrysler Pacifica Minivan Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Last week while leaving from a stop, our PacHy suddenly stopped and the gas engine revved way beyond anything I had ever experienced before. Awful grinding noises were also heard. I promptly shifted to Park and turned off the car, which wouldn't turn off (but at least the engine stopped.)

It turns out _both_ front axle joints (just next to the wheels) snapped. One of them appears "cleanly" cut while the other is truly shattered. (or is it CV joints? I'm not a mechanic, plus I'm not 100% sure this is the correct translation to the french word "cardan". I'm in QC, Canada.)

While the mechanics themselves have never seen something like this, the Tech Line at Chrysler assured them this had happened to others before.

It's not clear how frequent this is, nor what is the root cause, but I've seen a handful of other instances on this forum on non-hybrid Pacificas.

Earlier this spring, I had another issue where I would hear clicks while turning. That issue was gone after the dealer cleaned up deposits, but I've seen in some posts about axle issues that they had also heard such clicks, and it might be related to a failing axle.

We're now waiting on the parts, but I'd really like to know the depths of that story and what in blazes is up with those failing front axles.

Can someone shed some light on this story?
Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
1,028 Posts
A couple months ago our drivers side CV axle broke as my wife started a left turn at a traffic light. Rush hour of course. She blocked traffic until the wrecker showed up. Police came and directed traffic while the wrecker driver loaded. I assumed it was tranny after the wrecker driver said he could roll our van while in park. It took two days to fix.

·
Registered
1,028 Posts
Here are two Pacifica recalls 18V493000, 18V492000 I definitely had 18V493000

July 26, 2018 NHTSA Campaign Number: 18V493000