2017+ Chrysler Pacifica Minivan Forums banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My Level 2 charger will not release from the vehicle. I thought there might be a problem with the release button on the charger, but I ruled out that possibility by shutting off the breaker and disassembling the charger handle. I noticed a bit of a burnt smell after I opened up the handle.

Based on another posting
( Public Charger Wouldn't Release (Cut it off..) )
I wonder if there might have been overheating where the charger plugs into the vehicle, so that the charger may have become fused to the charging port.

Does that make sense to any of the technicians out there? Does anyone have any advice or any alternative explanations for why the charger does not pull out?

Some additional information:
  • I have been using my Mustart 32A Level 2 charger for almost 3 years
  • Have owned the 2018 Pacifica for three years and two weeks, i.e. I am two weeks out of warranty.

Timetable:
-- On Saturday night, the vehicle charged only to 30 miles instead of the usual 34. That has happened occasionally in the past as well.
-- On Sunday night, the battery charged to only about 24 miles.
-- On Monday night, I plugged the charger in at about 9pm. The battery was fully discharged, but the vehicle should have cooled down by the time it started charging on schedule at 11:15 pm.
-- On Tuesday, the vehicle was fully charged but the charger could not be pulled out.

Does the vehicle have features to protect from overheating while charging?
Would a 16A charger be less likely to have an overheating problem than a 32A charger?

Any advice, theories, or explanations will be welcome.

·
Registered
2020 Hybrid Touring L
83 Posts
I have a Chevy Bolt, check out below thread going on there, among others RE: mustart

·
Registered
729 Posts
Does the vehicle have features to protect from overheating while charging?