2017+ Chrysler Pacifica Minivan Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2018 Chrysler Pacifica Limited
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I’m new to post but certainly not new to this forum. I read a few articles to know that I have to replace my drivers side control arm and ball joint assembly on my 2018 Pac Limited (clunking noice over bumps, etc.) Vehicle has 60k+ miles so it’s out of warranty.

I have not come across anything specific to the actual replacement process and dealer would charge $800+ for this job (whereas part would cost $200 for my DIY job). Has anyone done this replacement or willing to share the step by step from the service manual?

·
Registered
1,548 Posts
REMOVAL
  1. Raise and support the vehicle
  2. Remove the tire and wheel assembly
  3. Remove the front belly pan
  4. Remove the front wheelhouse splash shield.
  5. Remove and DISCARD the lower ball joint pinch bolt (2).

Tire Wheel Automotive tire Motor vehicle Tread

NOTE:
    Use care when separating the ball joint stud from the knuckle so the ball joint boot does not get cut.
  6. Pry down on the control arm until the ball joint stud is clear of the knuckle. Position the knuckle assembly to the side until it is clear of the ball joint stud. Slowly release the control arm.
  7. Remove and DISCARD both front lower control arm to subframe mounting bolts (1).
    Tire Wheel Automotive lighting Automotive tire White
  8. Remove and DISCARD the three rear lower control arm to subframe mounting bolts (2).
  9. Remove the lower control arm (3) from the vehicle.
INSTALLATION
  1. Position the lower control arm (3) against the subframe. (Picture above)
  2. Install two NEW front lower control arm to subframe mounting bolts (1). Do not tighten at this time.
  3. Install three NEW rear lower control arm to subframe mounting bolts (2). Do not tighten at this time.