6 Posts
Model Year:
Gas / Hybrid:
Hybrid
Trim:
Limited
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
I just services the z11 fire hazard recall on my hybrid Chrysler Pacifica 2018. This is my first time driving it on a battery since the recall wouldn’t recommend charging the hv battery due to fire hazard. The recall has been there since February and I just bought the car from the previous owner.
In my first drive I am realizing I am only getting 15 miles range. Is that ok.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Model Year:
Gas / Hybrid:
Hybrid
Trim:
Limited
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Could the reason be that the battery went bad because it was not charged for 9 months since the recall in February till the fix was rolled out in November. I am wondering if others are reporting similar issue. My car has 115k miles on it though.

·
Registered
1,145 Posts
Could the reason be that the battery went bad because it was not charged for 9 months since the recall in February till the fix was rolled out in November. I am wondering if others are reporting similar issue. My car has 115k miles on it though.
Doubt it. Even though the car may say that the battery is at 0% it’s really still got some charge in it, perhaps around 10%. So for that 9 months while the van was not being charged by an external source it was still being charged when the van was running and dropped below a certain level (perhaps around 10%).

·
Registered
2017 PacHY 200,00+ Mile Club
349 Posts
I don't think it went bad but if you haven't been plugging it in to charge it and this is your first charge in that timeframe then that could potentially explain it recalibrating.

·
Registered
2021 PacHy Pinnacle Maximum Steel
182 Posts
It could also be the weather. I'm getting way less battery range with the cold weather since the climate is usually pulling anything from 4 to 8kW constant power this week.

Also like others have mentioned, recalibrating might be affecting it.