2017+ Chrysler Pacifica Minivan Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
This is my first time buying a new car and I would love some advice about negotiating with the dealer.

We are looking into buying a 2020 Pacifica Hybrid Limited with S package, SafetyTec Group, Panoramic Sunroof, and Splash Guards. MSRP is $51,175 and $7,385 in incentives (more details below) brings the total (before TTL) to $43,790. How much more can I negotiate the price down?

MSRP Price=$51,175.00
MSRP-2,385 (Employee discount)-$5,000 (bonus/retail cash)=$43,790
Total with taxes and fees=49,280.66

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
1,466 Posts
It would help if you break down taxes and fees. Those seem high. I assume you are not including any government tax incentives?

Reactions: HybridMom

·
Registered
376 Posts
Agreed that a breakdown would be helpful. Even in Cook County I think my taxes were meaningfully lower than that. The incentives look fantastic, but if the dealer is clawing them back in taxes/fees, you don’t benefit. My TTL (tax, title and license) were under $3K; yours would be nearly $6K. Note, I was trading in a vehicle worth $21.5K, so if you’ve got nothing driving down the total sales cost, your taxes WILL be higher. But $6K is still awfully high.

·
Registered
2020 Pacifica Hybrid Limited, Ocean Blue w/ Mocha interior, AST, Tri-panoroof, UTheater
86 Posts
#1 piece of advice: verify that the price quoted is good for the type of financing or payment you are prepared to do. I went with the FCA 0% financing option and that negated a bunch of manufacturer incentives. To get it back down, I then negotiated an increased trade-in value for my Toyota (helped that the dealer also sold Toyotas).